The Diocese of East Anglia is part of the worldwide Catholic Church and covers Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough. It is part of the Province of Westminster.

It is made up of 52 parishes which provide liturgical, spiritual, social action and pastoral services to both its parishioners and everyone who wishes to engage with them.

The Cathedral church of the diocese is St John the Baptist in Norwich and the diocese is also home to England’s National Catholic Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham.

The diocese provides a Catholic education through 26 schools across East Anglia.

In its current representation the diocese was formed in 1976 by a decree of Pope Paul VI, and in that time has had five bishops, the current one being Bishop Peter Collins, who resides at Poringland near Norwich where the small central curia staff team are also based.

The charitable purpose is the advancement of the Catholic faith within the Diocese and for the service and support of charitable works and objects promoted by the Catholic Church.

The Diocese not only provides for the religious needs of the Catholic population in East Anglia but plays a full role in participating with other churches, faiths and public organisations in promoting an ethos and attitude among the general population which is designed to encourage and develop mutual cooperation, social cohesion and dialogue for the benefit of the community as a whole and in particular the poor and most vulnerable. Within the Christian community, the Diocese and parishes are active in inter-faith activities working to increase the common interest.

A gift in a Will to the Church, no matter how big or small, is a wonderful way to support your Catholic community. Legacy gifts can be given to either to support the work of your local parish or the diocese or both. We are extremely grateful for all gifts.

You can find out more at

Contact us

01508 492202
Registered Charity number: 278742
Registered Address: 21 Upgate, Poringland, Norwich, Norfolk. NR14 7SH